Lights, Camera, Action!


UFC kickstarts womens strawweight division with 11 new signings

The women’s division in the UFC received a major jolt yesterday.

The company announced the signings of 11 fighters who will in the brand new strawweight division (115 lbs).

As a first, the 11 fighters will compete on Season 20 of The Ultimate Fighter to become the company’s first strawweight champion.


Somewhere, Invicta FC president Shannon Knapp must be smiling.

In case you missed Invicta FC 7, you can watch the entire card here.

The 11 fighters are no strangers to readers who watch WMMA or watched Invicta FC 7 last Saturday. Here they are:

Former Invicta FC strawweight champion “The Cookie Monster” Carla Esparza


Undefeated Brazilian Claudia Gadelha


American Felice Herrig


Undefeated Scottish fighter Joanne Calderwood 


Tecia Torres


Rose Namajunas


“Rowdy” Bec Hyatt


Emily Kagan 

Alex Chambers


Julianna Lima


 Paige Vanzant


Coaches have not been determined and no terms for the fighters were announced.

An additional five fighters will be selected for TUF via a 2014 tryout event.

“The women’s 135-pound division in the UFC has been amazing and we know there are a ton of talented women’s mixed martial artists out there,” said UFC president Dana White. “Now, you’ll see even more great women’s bouts in the UFC with the addition of the 115-pound division. We’re excited to crown the first-ever UFC women’s strawweight champion in 2014 after a historic season of The Ultimate Fighter.”


Kenai is a former Postmedia Network online news and sports editor. He is the Editor-in-Chief for MMA Crossfire.

Latest articles

Related articles