Was Sergey Kovalev robbed or did Andre Ward outbox him?

American Andre Ward scored a controversial come-from-behind unanimous decision win over Russian Sergey Kovalev at the T-Mobile Arena in Las Vegas last night.

Kovalev stormed off to a quick start, startling Ward with his powerful jab, en route to a second-round knockdown. But Ward made some adjustments, frustrating Kovalev with clinching and grabbing and working the body, which seemed to take some starch out of the “Krusher.” Once Ward climbed back into the bout, the rounds were too close to call.

Welcome back to The Crossfire.

MMA Crossfire

Even with an automatic 10-8 Round 2 for Kovalev, the three judges all scored it 114-113 for Ward, who remains undefeated at 31-0 with 15 KOs.

Kovalev drops to 30-1-1 with 26 KOs.

Unsurprisingly, both fighters thought they did enough to win.

Ward made history last night by becoming the seventh fighter to win titles at super middleweight and light heavyweight.

Former champion and boxing commentator Paul Malignaggi made some compelling points in defence of Ward’s victory.

While Jim Lampley made some more in favour of Kovalev.

Social media weighed in with some interesting opinions on the fight.

https://twitter.com/Spark_Sports_/status/800211814650740736

https://twitter.com/SixHeadz/status/800349693943357440

There was no official confirmation of a rematch.

@kenaiandrews

Categories
Boxingnews

Kenai is a former Postmedia Network online news and sports editor. He is the Editor-in-Chief for MMA Crossfire.

RELATED BY

Sign up for our free Crossfire Nation newsletter and get content directly to your email!
Share via
Copy link