No menu items!

ONE Championship reverses Eddie Alvarez’s ONE on TNT I DQ loss to no-contest

"The Underground King" returns April 28 at ONE on TNT IV

Eddie Alvarez is perhaps a little happier today.

ONE Championship confirmed on Monday that the Alvarez (30-7-0, 2NC) disqualification loss to Iuri Lapicus at ONE on TNT I April 7 was changed to a no-contest via a ONE panel of judges, referees and officials.

After the bout, Alvarez was emotional, apologizing for what happened but explaining that he thought the strikes were legal.

The panel determined in the review that referee Justin Brown failed to stop the contest and properly warn Alvarez after the second illegal strike.Subsequently, the red card was removed from Alvarez’s record and replaced with a yellow card and the result overturned for both fighters.

That means that Lapicus record is now 14-1-0, with a no-contest.

At ONE on TNT IV this Wednesday, Alvarez returns to face Rae Yoon Ok (14-3-0) in Singapore. The main card starts at 10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT, with prelims beginning at 8:30 p.m. ET/5:30 p.m PT.

@kenaiandrews

KenaiAndrewshttps://www.mmacrossfire.com
Kenai is a former Postmedia Network online news and sports editor. He is the Editor-in-Chief for MMA Crossfire.

Latest articles

223.7k Followers
Follow

Related articles

 
ONE Championship reverses Eddie Alvarez\'s ONE on TNT I DQ loss to no-contest is highly popular post having 91 Facebook shares
Share with your friends
Powered by ESSB