No menu items!

2021 PFL Playoffs 2: Top seed Larissa Pacheco disqualified from semi-finals after missing weight

No. 5 Mariana Morais steps in as replacement

2021 PFL top playoff seed Larissa Pacheco was disqualified from the semi-finals Wednesday after missing weight for her matchup against Taylor Guardado.

Pacheco, who lost to defending champion Kayla Harrison in the 2091 PFL Finals, was undefeated in the 2021 PFL regular season in two bouts, earning the top playoff seed. But she came in two pounds above the 156-pound limit and was replaced by the next highest seed, Marianna Morais.

The winner will face the victor of the other semifinal between defending champion Kayla Harrison and No. 4 seed Genah Fabian.

The promotion of Morais means that Claudia Zamora will now fight Marina Mokhnatkina on the prelims.

The 2021 PFL Playoffs 2 main card will be held on Thursday Aug.19 at the Seminole Hard Rock Hotel and Casino in Hollywood, Florida. The main card begins at 9 p.m. ET/6 p.m. PT, aired on ESPN, and streamed on ESPN+ while the prelims start at 6 p.m. ET/3 p.m. PT and streamed on ESPN+.

The current card is:

(2) KAYLA HARRISON (155.5) VS. (3) GENAH FABIAN (156)

(1) BRUNO CAPPELOZZA (235.5) VS. (4) JAMELLE JONES (250.75)

(4) TAYLOR GUARDADO (155.5) VS. (5) MARIANA MORAIS (153.5)

(2) ANTE DELIJA (244.5) VS. (3) DENIS GOLTSOV (250)

STUART AUSTIN (246.5) VS. RENAN FERREIRA (252.75)

MUHAMMED DEREESE (252) VS. CARL SEUMANUTAFA (260.5)

MARINA MOKHNATKINA (156) VS. CLAUDIA ZAMORA (148.75)

MIRANDA BARBER (155.25) VS. AMANDA LEVE (153.5)

JONAS FLOK (155.5) VS. CHRISTIAN LOHSEN (156)

@kenaiandrews

KenaiAndrewshttps://www.mmacrossfire.com
Kenai is a former Postmedia Network online news and sports editor. He is the Editor-in-Chief for MMA Crossfire.

Latest articles

223.7k Followers
Follow

Related articles